Missouri Motorcycle Permit Restrictions
In Missouri, you must have a Class M instruction permit, a Class M license, or a Class M endorsement on your driver’s license to drive a motorcycle on public roadways. The rules and restrictions for Missouri motorcycle permit holders can be confusing. In this article, we will walk you through the critical information you need to know so you can safely and legally operate your motorcycle in Missouri.
How Old Must You Be in Missouri to Apply for a Motorcycle Permit?
You must be at least 15 ½ years (15 years and 182 days) of age to apply for a motorcycle permit in Missouri. Before doing so, you must complete an approved motorcycle training course. At this age, you will apply for a temporary motorcycle instruction permit, valid for only six months. You must hold the permit for a minimum of six months before applying for a Class M license.
If you are 16 years old, you may also apply for a temporary motorcycle instruction permit, but you do not have to take the motorcycle training course.
Other Requirements for Obtaining a Missouri Motorcycle Permit
To obtain a Missouri motorcycle permit, you must do the following:
- Show proof of completion from an approved motorcycle training course if you are under the age of 16
- Provide acceptable identification documents
- Have written consent from a parent or legal guardian
- Present identification that includes name, date of birth, place of birth, Social Security number, and residence
- Pass the Class F and Class M written exams
- Pass a vision screening
- Pass a road sign test
- Pay the permit cost of $6.25
On your written exam, you will be asked questions concerning:
- Basic motorcycle control principles, such as body position and braking
- What to do when experiencing mechanical problems, such as tire failure
- What to do in various intersection scenarios
- Ways to increase your visibility to other drivers
- How to handle dangerous surfaces
- How to avoid crashes
- How to drive with passengers or cargo
Permit applicants between the age of 15 ½ and 18 must also comply with Missouri’s Graduated Driver License law.
Restrictions on Motorcyclists Under 16 with a Permit
If you are under the age of 16 and hold a motorcycle permit, the following restrictions apply to you:
- You can only drive during daylight.
- You cannot go farther than 50 miles from your home address.
- You cannot have any passengers riding with you.
- Your motorcycle’s engine must have a displacement no greater than 250 cc.
Contact a Motorcycle Accident Lawyer at Sumner Law Group
Even if you follow all the rules, motorcyclists of all ages can still find themselves in an accident. If you are injured in a motorcycle accident that was not your fault, the experienced personal injury attorneys at Sumner Law Group, LLC, are here to help. Contact us today for a free, no-obligation consultation.
Brent A. Sumner is the Managing Partner at Sumner Law Group, LLC. He focuses his practice exclusively on cases that involve serious personal injuries. Over the years, he has successfully represented thousands of individuals and families, recovering millions of dollars in compensation for injured accident victims.